FGD: A BoA Preview Before the Storm

Kent Wilson
January 26 2013 12:31PM

 

 

As regular readers may or may not remember, Flamesnation and OilersNation have a running bet whereby the site of which ever team won the previous game of the Battle of Alberta gets to write the next gamethread for both sites - an opportunity that has resulted in a lot of name calling and mudslinging for both sides.

The scummy Oil won the last meeting, so this afternoon Wanye will share with us his no doubt gracious and eloquent views on the city of Calgary and the Flames (see below). Make sure to stop by and argue with the howling ON mobs in the comment section.

However, since the topic of lines and combinations is of primary interest around here heading into the game I figured it would be a good idea to do a Flames-centric preview first.

The Lines

Ryan Pike attended the skate this mornng and reported these line rushes:

  • Glencross - Tanguay - Iginla
  • Cammalleri - Backlund - Stempniak
  • Hudler - Stajan - Cervenka
  • Baertschi - Jones - Comeau

  • Giordano - Bouwmeester
  • Brodie - Wideman
  • Smith - Sarich

  • Kiprusoff

Surprise! Baertschi is in while both Begin and Jackman are out. That's not a 4th line most traditionalists will like (where's the size? The grit? WHO WILL FIGHT?).

Depending on how earnestly you cleave to the notion that the 4th line has to have goons and checkers, that configuration may or may not makes sense for you. Frankly, if Baertschi is going to play onthe 4th line I think should be in a situation like this: with non-goonish linemates and against another team with fairly lousy bottom-end players. He should be able to get his feet wet, outplay the bad guys and not worry about having to drag around a Steve Begin type all night.

Another item of interest if the new line of Cervenka, Stajan and Hudler. It's a trio that makes me fairly nervous to tell you the truth. Either they'll spend all night playing tic-tac-toe with the puck or they'll get run right out of the rink. It will be interesting to see how Hartley uses them. My initial guess is third line comp and all the o-zone draws they can handle, but who knows.

Stempniak slides up with Backlund. Hopefully he can help get Cammalleri going. For my money Stemps has been one of the better Flames through the first three games while Cammalleri has looked more than a step behind the proceedings.

For all the consternation surrounding Baertschi's demotion, few have noticed TJ Brodie's promotion to the top-4 with Dennis Wideman. On merit I would argue as well - Brodie came in and was instantly noticeable (in a good way) after sitting out game 1. What's most impressive is that through two games Brodie has just a 33.3% zone start ratio (offensive zone to defensive zone faceofffs at even strength) which is a tough deployment, but a +16.5 relative corsi rating nevertheless. Two games is games, of course, but that's a tough row to hoe regardless and the kid has excelled. 

The Opposition

It's the Oilers. They suck. Sure they beat the Kings the other night, but who hasn't this year? Anyways, here are their typical lines:

  • Hall - Nuuge - Eberle
  • Yakupov - Gagner - Hemsky
  • Paajarvi - Horcoff - Smyth
  • scrub - scrub - scrub

  • Petry - Smid
  • Schultz&Schultz
  • Whitney - Fistric

  • Dubnyk

Challenge is obviously not to let that first line run away with things. hemsky can be a handful now that he's healthy as well, particularly off the rush. Edmonton still has nig question marks in their own zone though, so if the Flames can get the puck in deep and work it around they should have some success.

Your Friendly Neighborhood Sponsor Promo

As you all no doubt realize now, The Tilted Kilt is FN's primary sponsor this season. So from time-to-time we'll be sharing some of their awesome gameday promos in this space. In fact, we'll be getting FN-centric promos for gameday viewing events very soon (Stay tuned!).

Tonight, however, TK is running their weekly weekend gameday offers including a new Calgary flames jersey give-away. In addition, they will be having a "puck party" where everyone who attends tonight gets a different numbered puck. If the corresponding player scores or fights during the game, you win more prizes. Score!

So if you're looking for a pub to view the game in Calgary tonight swing by the Tilted Kilt and give them a try.

39d8109299a9795cb3b41a4e9b49d501
Former Nations Overlord. Current Fn contributor and curmudgeon For questions, complaints, criticisms, etc contact Kent @ kent.wilson@gmail. Follow him on Twitter here.
Avatar
#1 Ryan Pike
January 26 2013, 12:44PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Props
0
props

At the post-practice coaches scrum, Bob Hartley mentioned specifically how well the Brodie-Wideman pairing played against Vancouver.

Avatar
#2 funkyjaman
January 26 2013, 12:57PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Props
0
props

Really looking forward to this match up tonight. Don't care to much about the win just looking for a full 60 minute game from the flames.

Also looking forward to the Stajan/Hudler/Cervenka line. That has the potential to be a very solid line if all goes well.

I've got 4 - 2 flames tonight. Iggy/ Hudler/ Jones/ Brodie with goals and a 3 assist night for Sven.

Avatar
#3 Derzie
January 26 2013, 01:13PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Props
0
props

What line will be matched against the Eberle line? Not many defensive forwards in our stable.

Avatar
#5 Stunner
January 26 2013, 01:31PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Props
0
props

The one thing I will miss tonight in the BofA will be (ex-Flame) Regehr nailing Hemsky into oblivion. Let's hope Gio does it instead. Go Flames!!!

Avatar
#6 Quintana
January 26 2013, 01:54PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Props
0
props
Stunner wrote:

The one thing I will miss tonight in the BofA will be (ex-Flame) Regehr nailing Hemsky into oblivion. Let's hope Gio does it instead. Go Flames!!!

You should be more care about Fistric nailing Baertschi. or Hordichuk.

Avatar
#7 RexLibris
January 26 2013, 02:22PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Props
0
props

To somewhat echo Quintana above, I would recommend Flames fans watch Fistric tonight. I suspect that he will either have a night where he staples a few Flames or gets burnt for a bad goal off the rush.

Either way, with the way the Flames are running things under Hartley, I expect that the defense for both teams will spend a lot of time skating backwards this evening.

A bit off topic, at least until he gets a hat trick tonight, but what do Flames fans think of Yakupov's celebration?

Avatar
#8 Colin
January 26 2013, 02:23PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Props
0
props
Stunner wrote:

The one thing I will miss tonight in the BofA will be (ex-Flame) Regehr nailing Hemsky into oblivion. Let's hope Gio does it instead. Go Flames!!!

Didn't Sarich take over this mantle? In this particular instance, it will be 1 of only a couple games I have no problem with Sarich being in.

Avatar
#9 Baalzamon
January 26 2013, 02:26PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Props
0
props

@RexLibris

"A bit off topic, at least until he gets a hat trick tonight, but what do Flames fans think of Yakupov's celebration?"

he was a kid scoring his first goal. Exited as hell. Over-did it a bit, but whatever.

though he was kind of a dick for streaking away from his teammates, who wanted to share in his excitement. I actually doubt he was emulating Fleury, though.

Avatar
#10 xis10ce
January 26 2013, 03:13PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Props
0
props

Tilted Kilt. Is that where Bob the Fish used to be?

Avatar
#12 Mr. Pederson
January 26 2013, 04:06PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Props
0
props

Way to cheat and write your own game preview. FOR SHAME!

Avatar
#13 exsanguinator
January 26 2013, 04:22PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Props
0
props
RexLibris wrote:

To somewhat echo Quintana above, I would recommend Flames fans watch Fistric tonight. I suspect that he will either have a night where he staples a few Flames or gets burnt for a bad goal off the rush.

Either way, with the way the Flames are running things under Hartley, I expect that the defense for both teams will spend a lot of time skating backwards this evening.

A bit off topic, at least until he gets a hat trick tonight, but what do Flames fans think of Yakupov's celebration?

I don't mind it. In my opinion, the people that are getting upset about it are the same people that forget that this is a game first and everything else second.

It kind of reminds me of how pissed people got when OV dropped his stick for being too hot after scoring a million goals again early in his career.

Anyway, I liked seeing that kind of emotion being displayed. If that's the kind of enthusiasm he shows all of the time then Edmonton got their hands on a really special player.

Avatar
#15 jeremywilhelm
January 26 2013, 04:34PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Props
0
props

We love line combos, it's the only info we neeeeeeed!!!

Avatar
#16 mattyc
January 26 2013, 05:03PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Props
0
props

Is Butler injured?

Avatar
#18 everton fc
January 26 2013, 05:45PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Props
0
props
Kent Wilson wrote:

Nope. Healthy scratch.

So if Butler's once again a healthy scratch... Could he be trade bait? Any word?? Odd to see him sit. He's certainly better than Smith. Or Sarich, for that matter.

Avatar
#19 funkyjaman
January 26 2013, 05:55PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Props
0
props
everton fc wrote:

So if Butler's once again a healthy scratch... Could he be trade bait? Any word?? Odd to see him sit. He's certainly better than Smith. Or Sarich, for that matter.

One can only hope.

Avatar
#20 Baalzamon
January 26 2013, 06:07PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Props
0
props

It wouldn't make sense to sit Butler if he was trade bate--not for this long, anyway. If they were trading him, wouldn't they want to showcase him?

That said, I'm at a complete loss as to why he isn't playing.

Avatar
#21 funkyjaman
January 26 2013, 06:24PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Props
0
props

Ha Ha! Classic Don Cherry!

Avatar
#22 Slash
January 26 2013, 08:03PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Props
0
props

Watching Boyle tonight certainly demonstrates the value of a quality big man in the lineup.

Avatar
#23 jeremywilhelm
January 26 2013, 09:03PM
Trash it!
0
trashes
Props
0
props

Hartley needs to pull his head from his ass and pay attention when Hall and Eberle are on the ice. Smith and Sarich getting sdominated on three shifts against them.

Comments are closed for this article.