A history of Flames numbers: #10, Linden Vey

Aaaand we’re rolling back a bit.

This time a week ago, when #10 would have been discussed, nobody had that number. We did talk a little bit about it when Lance Bouma was up, because #10 probably should have been his – but it was gifted to Corban Knight, who didn’t stick around long at all.

Since then, the number hasn’t been touched. Until now – because it’s Linden Vey’s.

#10 on the Flames

Vey will be the 18th player in Flames franchise history to wear #10:

  • LW Norm Gratton
  • LW Butch Deadmarsh
  • C Vic Mercredi
  • C Gerry Meehan
  • LW Jerry Byers
  • C Bill Clement
  • C Guy Chouinard
  • LW Carl Mokosak
  • C Dan Quinn
  • LW Gary Roberts
  • LW Dave Lowry
  • RW Tony Amonte
  • RW Brian McGrattan
  • LW Niklas Hagman
  • RW Blake Comeau
  • C Roman Cervenka
  • C Corban Knight
  • RW Linden Vey

We’re in a group of exclusively forwards, most of which are wingers. Vey himself fits in on that part, although his ability to play centre as well sees him join seven others who have done so before him – including the two most recent recipients of the number.

The best #10


Amonte does give Roberts a run for his money – but the sheer amount of years Roberts dedicated to this franchise sees him easily come out on top.

His number has seen a fair share of turmoil this decade, tumbling from McGrattan to Hagman to Comeau to Cervenka to Knight and never lasting very long. Vey probably won’t break the pattern, but at least he should have it in him to do a better job than most recent wearers – he’s already scored more points than they’ve played games.

Previous numbers

#1Brian Elliott #3Jyrki Jokipakka
#5Mark Giordano #6Dennis Wideman
#7T.J. Brodie #10 – Linden Vey
#11Mikael Backlund #13Johnny Gaudreau
#15Ladislav Smid #17Lance Bouma
#18Matt Stajan #19Matthew Tkachuk