The Flames haven’t won a season opener since 2009

It’s going to be an unusual season. With the all-new North Division, the Calgary Flames will be facing off exclusively against their fellow Canadian brethren. There will be no All-Star Game. All 31 teams will be playing a compressed 56-game schedule.