Dates Set For Penticton Rookie Tournament

For those of you who like wineries, beautiful scenery, and entertaining late summer hockey, you are once again in luck.

The Calgary Flames today confirmed their participation in the 2015 Young Stars Classic Tournament. This year’s edition of the tournament goes September 11-14 from the South Okanagan Events Center in Penticton, British Columbia.

The Edmonton Oilers, Winnipeg Jets and Vancouver Canucks are also taking part.

Who’s likely to suit up for the Calgary Flames?

Generally, it’s players on their entry-level deals (who don’t have more than a certain amount of pro experience) and unsigned junior players. That means you’ll likely see guys like this:

  • Goalies: Mason McDonald and Jon Gillies
  • Defenders: Keegan Kanzig, Patrick Sieloff, Kenney Morrison, Brett Kulak and Ryan Culkin (I believe Tyler Wotherspoon has too much pro experience and Jakub Nakladal is too old.)
  • Forwards: Hunter Smith, Garnet Hathaway, Austin Carroll, Emile Poirier, Morgan Klimchuk and Sam Bennett (I believe that Markus Granlund has too much pro experience, as do Sean Monahan and Johnny Gaudreau.)

And, of course, we’ll see the appropriate members of the 2015 Draft class.