Photo Credit: Aaron Doster/USA Today Sports

Despite struggles, Flames managed to get some award votes

The National Hockey League has doled out its awards for the 2019-20 campaign – aside from the Stanley Cup and the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP. Despite having a somewhat disappointing regular season, several Calgary Flames representatives got onto the various ballots that determined the awards.

Disclaimer: I’m a member of the Professional Hockey Writers Association, but I didn’t get an awards ballot this season. (I did vote for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, though.)

Jack Adams Award

Voted on by the NHL Broadcasters Association, the Adams is given to the league’s top coach.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Interim coach Geoff Ward, since promoted to full-time head coach, received one third place vote and finished tied for 15th in voting. Since he’s never been eligible before, this was his first time receiving consideration.

Frank J. Selke Trophy

Voted on by the PHWA, this trophy honours the best defensive forward in the game.

Mikael Backlund received one fourth place vote and finished tied for 25th in voting. It’s the fourth consecutive season he’s gotten some votes: he was fourth in 2016-17, 13th in 2017-18 and eighth in 2018-19.

Elias Lindholm received one fifth place vote and finished tied for 33rd in voting. It’s the second season in a row he’s gotten some votes; he was 10th in 2018-19.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy

Voted on by the PHWA, this award goes to the player that combines a high level of play with gentlemanly conduct.

Johnny Gaudreau finished 25th in voting with three fourth place and four fifth place votes. He’s gotten votes every single season he’s played in the NHL. He was previously17th in 2014-15, fourth in 2015-16, won in 2016-17, 11th in 2017-18 and ninth in 2018-19. (He’s a wee fella, you see, and scores lots of points without engaging in fisticuffs, so he’s a perpetual contender for the Lady Byng.)

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award

Selected by Messier himself, this award tips the proverbial cap to the NHL’s top leader.

Mark Giordano won this year. He was previously named a finalist in 2016-17 and 2018-19. He received zero votes (of any kind) for the Norris, so this was a nice consolation prize.