1Sam Bennett
Photo Credit: Sergei Belski/USA Today Sports

Flames announce team award winners, new awards

The Calgary Flames announced their annual team award winners on Tuesday morning via media release, as well as two new team awards.

Sam Bennett was the 2019-20 winner of the Ralph and Sonia Scurfield Humanitarian Award. This award is presented annually to the Flames player who best exemplifies perseverance, determination and leadership on the ice, combined with dedication to community service off the ice.

Milan Lucic shares the J.R. “Bud” McCaig Award with CSEC human resources director Deidra Campagna. This award honours two Flames personnel, a player and a staff member, who best exemplify Mr. McCaig’s enduring virtues of respect, courtesy and compassion for all individuals he encountered both in his professional and everyday life.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

The three new awards for 2020-21 are as follows:

  • The Harley N. Hotchkiss Award will go to the club’s most valuable player.
  • The Daryl “Doc” Seaman Award will go to the club’s leading points scorer.
  • The Clayton H. Riddell Award will go to the club’s top defenseman.

All of the club’s awards are named after former members of their ownership group who have passed away.