For second time, Oscar Dansk named Calgary Wranglers winner of IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year Award

Photo credit:Angela Burger/Calgary Wranglers
Ryan Pike
18 days ago
History has a way of repeating itself, particularly when it comes to hockey players who continue to contribute off the ice in their community. For the second time in as many seasons, Calgary Wranglers goaltender Oscar Dansk has been named his team’s winner of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year Award.
The IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year Award is the American League’s way of tipping their cap to the players that contribute off the ice in their member communities.
For the second consecutive season, Dansk had a custom mask painted as part of a partnership with Ronald McDonald House Alberta. It’ll be auctioned off with the proceeds benefiting that charity.
According to the AHL’s release last season, here’s a bit more about Dansk’s charity of choice:
Ronald McDonald House Charities Alberta supports families seeking vital medical treatment for their seriously sick or injured child. Compassionate housing provides a home-away-from-home for families who need to travel for medical reasons. When those families are experiencing one of life’s most difficult times, Ronald McDonald House Charities offers them the gift of togetherness.
Initially slated to serve as Dustin Wolf’s backup once again, the 30-year-old Dansk ended up with a larger than anticipated role due to the repeated call-ups for Wolf throughout the season. After playing 17 games in 2022-23, Dansk has appeared in 26 games this season. While his numbers have taken a bit of a dip in recent weeks, he’s been everything the Wranglers needed him to be this season: a reliable, consistent presence in the Wranglers net that can give his club solid play when called upon.
Originally a 2012 second-round pick by the Columbus Blue Jackets, Dansk has played six NHL games, 144 AHL games and has also spent time in European pro between the Swedish Hockey League and the Kontinental Hockey League. This is the third time he’s won a club’s IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year Award; he previously won it with the Chicago Wolves back in 2019-20.
Dansk is now one of 32 finalists for the AHL’s Yanick Dupré Memorial Award, given to the league-wide Man of the Year. The league award is named after the former Hershey Bears forward and AHL All-Star who died in 1997 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. The winner of the Yanick Dupré Memorial Award will be announced by the American Hockey League later this month.
Fill your cup with all things puck Monday to Thursday at 9am EST with Morning Cuppa Hockey. Hosts and former players Jonny Lazarus and Colby Cohen will be on the mic discussing key topics, chatting with guests, and disagreeing on practically everything! Tune in and subscribe to the Daily Faceoff Youtube Channel to catch the show LIVE at 9am EST, or stream anytime, anywhere you get your podcasts.

Check out these posts...