Yegor Sharangovich, Sean Monahan among vote-getters for Lady Byng Memorial Trophy

Photo credit:Sergei Belski-USA TODAY Sports
Mike Gould
13 days ago
Yegor Sharangovich greatly endeared himself to hockey fans in Calgary during his first season with the Flames, setting new career highs with 31 goals, 28 assists, and 59 points in 82 games — all while keeping his nose relatively clean.
The 25-year-old Belarusian took just eight minutes in penalties during his debut go-round in Calgary. That certainly put him on the radar of members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association, which votes each year on the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (among various other NHL awards).
The Lady Byng is awarded each year to the National Hockey League player who is “adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.” Carolina Hurricanes defenceman Jaccob Slavin was named the 2024 winner of the award on Thursday evening.
Sharangovich was the only current Flames player to earn any Lady Byng consideration, receiving nine votes in total and finishing 26th in balloting. He received three third-place votes, two fourth-place votes, and four fifth-place votes.
Here’s the full voting breakdown, as released by the NHL on Thursday and subsequently shared to social media by St. Louis Post-Dispatch reporter Matthew DeFranks.
A total of 80 different players received at least one vote for the Lady Byng. Slavin, Elias Pettersson, and Auston Matthews finished as the top three vote-getters and were announced as the finalists for the award earlier this month.
Three former Flames players earned Lady Byng consideration this year, most notably Sean Monahan, who racked up just 12 penalty minutes in 83 games split between the Montreal Canadiens and Winnipeg Jets.
Monahan finished 13th in balloting with one first-place vote, two second-place votes, three third-place votes, one fourth-place vote, and five fifth-place votes. The 11-year NHL veteran spent the first nine seasons of his career in Calgary and is coming off a resurgent season in which he tallied 26 goals and 59 points.
The other two ex-Flames who received Lady Byng votes both first arrived in Calgary at the 2022 trade deadline, although one had a much greater impact than the other. They would be Tyler Toffoli and Ryan Carpenter, who respectively finished tied for 49th and tied for 64th in balloting.
Four different players have won the Lady Byng while playing for the Flames franchise: Johnny Gaudreau (2017), Jiri Hudler (2015), Joe Mullen (1987 and 1989), and Bob MacMillan (1979). Additionally, three other players have been named finalists for the award during their Flames tenures: Monahan (2019), Joe Nieuwendyk (1988), and Kent Nilsson (1983).
Fill your cup with all things puck Monday to Thursday at 9am EST with Morning Cuppa Hockey. Hosts and former players Jonny Lazarus and Colby Cohen will be on the mic discussing key topics, chatting with guests, and disagreeing on practically everything! Tune in and subscribe to the Daily Faceoff Youtube Channel to catch the show LIVE at 9am EST, or stream anytime, anywhere you get your podcasts.

Check out these posts...