Calgary Flames announce leadership group: four players join captain Mikael Backlund as alternates

Photo credit:© Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports
Ryan Pike
8 months ago
Mikael Backlund is the newly-minted captain of the Calgary Flames, but four others will join Backlund in the leadership group. Announced as alternate captains by the club on Saturday were Elias Lindholm, Chris Tanev, Jonathan Huberdeau and Rasmus Andersson.
The way the rules work are three players are allowed to wear letters – as captain (C) or alternate captain (A) per team per game. With no full-time captain in 2022-23, the Flames had Backlund and Tanev as their “full-time” alternates, wearing As in every game, and Lindholm and Huberdeau split time with the third A. (When Tanev was injured during the season, typically the Flames had both Lindholm and Huberdeau wear As.)
This season, Backlund is full-time captain. So the four alternates will split up duties, two per game. Andersson joins the formal leadership group as part of these moves. It wasn’t announced how they’ll divide up alternate duties – whether it’s a clear home/road split or another method – but that’ll become clear as the season gets going.
The Flames begin their regular season on Wednesday when they host the Winnipeg Jets.
Get your tickets for the FlamesNation Season Home Opener party, and come hang out with us at Greta Bar while we watch the Flames take on the Winnipeg Jets in their season opener!

Check out these posts...