Calgary Flames assign nine players to AHL’s Wranglers, place six on waivers

Photo credit:© Candice Ward-USA TODAY Sports
Ryan Pike
1 year ago
The training camp group got a lot smaller for the Calgary Flames on Sunday morning. The club announced that they’ve assigned nine players to the American Hockey League’s Calgary Wranglers, and placed six additional players on waivers for the purpose of assignment to the Wranglers.
Assigned outright to the Wranglers are defencemen Ilya Solovyov and Yan Kuznetsov and forwards Walker Duehr, Adam Klapka, Mitch McLain, Jakob Pelletier, Cole Schwindt, Brett Sutter and Connor Zary.
Placed on waivers are goaltender Oscar Dansk, defencemen Colton Poolman and Nick DeSimone, and forwards Ben Jones, Clark Bishop and Matthew Phillips.
The club also announced that blueliner Dennis Gilbert and forwards Emilio Pettersen and Martin Pospisil are day-to-day.
There are 28 healthy bodies remaining in Flames camp – all of which were on the ice for Sunday’s on-ice session – as follows:
  • Goaltenders (3) Jacob Markstrom, Dan Vladar and Dustin Wolf
  • Defencemen (10) Rasmus Andersson, Noah Hanifin, MacKenzie Weegar, Nikita Zadorov, Chris Tanev, Jeremie Poirier, Michael Stone, Juuso Valimaki, Nicolas Meloche and Connor Mackey
  • Forwards (15) Jonathan Huberdeau, Elias Lindholm, Tyler Toffoli, Andrew Mangiapane, Mikael Backlund, Blake Coleman, Nazem Kadri, Dillon Dube, Kevin Rooney, Milan Lucic, Cody Eakin, Trevor Lewis, Sonny Milano, Adam Ruzicka and Brett Ritchie
Oliver Kylington (personal) is not in camp, while Gilbert, Pettersen and Pospisil are unavailable due to injuries.
The Flames have to file a cap-compliant 20-23-player roster with the NHL’s Central Registry by 3 p.m. MT on Oct. 10 (next Monday).

Check out these posts...