Flames protection list revealed for Kraken expansion draft

Ryan Pike
2 years ago
The protection lists for the 30 teams participating in the Seattle Kraken expansion draft have been unveiled by the National Hockey League. We know now which Calgary Flames properties – and players from every team other than Vegas – will be protected and available for Seattle’s selection.
The Flames opted to protect seven forwards, three defensemen, and a goaltender:
  • Forwards: Mikael Backlund, Johnny Gaudreau, Matthew Tkachuk, Sean Monahan, Elias Lindholm, Dillon Dube and Andrew Mangiapane
  • Defensemen: Rasmus Andersson, Chris Tanev and Noah Hanifin
  • Goaltender: Jacob Markstrom
Once Milan Lucic agreed to waive his no-move clause, the forward protection list seemed academic. (He actually agreed to waive it when he was acquired in July 2019, but formalized it in May.) The seven forwards are a mixture of the team’s best offensive players (Gaudreau, Tkachuk, Monahan, Lindholm, Mangiapane), their best shutdown forward (Backlund) and a promising young forward (Dube).
As has been documented a lot, both here and on social media, two out of three defensive spots were academic. Andersson and Hanifin are young, promising and cost-controlled assets. The last spot seemed obviously Giordano’s when Tanev was signed last fall, but Tanev’s superb season made it all-but-impossible for the Flames to expose him given his cap hit ($4.5 million, $2.25 million less than Giordano), age (31, six years younger than Giordano) and ability to elevate everyone on the ice with him.
The goaltending spot was automatic, as Markstrom negotiated a no-move clause (as the team’s undisputed starting goalie) and wasn’t asked to waive it.
The players available for selection by Seattle are as follows:
  • Forwards: Milan Lucic, Derek Ryan, Josh Leivo, Matthew Phillips, Byron Froese, Glenn Gawdin, Zac Rinaldo, Justin Kirkland, Brett Ritchie, Buddy Robinson and Dominik Simon
  • Defensemen: Mark Giordano, Michael Stone, Oliver Kylington, Nikita Nesterov and Alex Petrovic
  • Goaltenders: Tyler Parsons and Louis Domingue
Aside from Giordano, who won the Norris Trophy in 2018-19, the Flames have a few available players that could tempt the Kraken. Derek Ryan is a superb two-way forward who can win key face-offs and kill penalties. Matthew Phillips has been excellent in the AHL, as has Glenn Gawdin – and both are right shot forwards. Oliver Kylington is a superb skater and, if paired with a stay-at-home partner, could be a superb puck-moving presence from the blueline. If Seattle decides not to grab Giordano – whether because of his cap hit, age, or an enticement of assets from the Flames, they have some pretty nice options to choose from.
The Kraken will announce their selections on Wednesday night in a live broadcast beginning at 6 p.m. MT on Sportsnet – our pals at 960 will carry the festivities on the radio, while the televised broadcast will be on the national TV feed.

Check out these posts...