The Flames have handed out their 2021-22 team awards

Photo credit:Perry Nelson-USA TODAY Sports
Ryan Pike
1 year ago
A bit of leftover news from the Calgary Flames golf tournament on Wednesday which raised $260,000 for the Flames Foundation. At the post-tournament meal at the Scotiabank Saddledome, the Flames handed out their 2021-22 team awards.
Here are the award winners:
  • Goaltender Jacob Markstrom received the Harley H. Hotchkiss Award as the club’s most valuable player.
  • Chris Tanev was honoured with the Clayton H. Riddell Award as the club’s top defender.
  • Noah Hanifin received the Ralph and Sonia Scurfield Humanitarian Award for his off-ice contributions in the community.
  • Trevor Lewis was awarded the J.R. “Bud” McCaig Memorial Award for embodying respect, courtesy and compassion in his professional and everyday life (as did staff member Dallas Kitt).
(The Daryl “Doc” Seaman Award for the club’s leading point-scorer presumably went to Johnny Gaudreau, but since he’s elsewhere now and obviously wasn’t at the golf tournament, that award wasn’t announced or handed out.)
The Hotchkiss, Riddell and Seaman awards were first handed out following the 2020-21 season, the Scurfield Award was first given out after the 1986-87 season, while McCaig Award was first awarded following the 2005-06 season.

Check out these posts...