Looking back at the Calgary Flames in the 2000s

Iginla banner
Photo credit:Candice Ward/USA Today Sports
Ryan Pike
7 months ago
The Calgary Flames franchise has a long, fascinating history. From their origins as an expansion team in Georgia in 1972 to their glory days in the 1980s to present day, the Flames have played a lot of hockey and many players have had tremendous careers wearing the Flaming C (and the Flaming A).
As we prepare for the 2023-24 season, we thought we’d look back at the Flames’ history decade-by-decade. After the success of the 1980s and the challenges of the 1990s, let’s delve into the unique period of ups and downs that was the 2000s.

The 2000s, at a glance

The Flames went 345-285-52-60 and earned 802 points over 740 games played during the 2000s. Their points percentage over the decade was 13th overall in the NHL.
The Flames missed the playoffs for the first four years of the 2000s, but a breakthrough in 2004 saw them make the playoffs for the next five seasons. The Flames won three playoff rounds, all in 2004, and came within a single goal of winning the Stanley Cup. Following the loss of the 2004-05 season to a lockout, their next four playoff appearances all ended in first round heartbreak, unfortunately.
The 1980s were definitely a time where hockey fans in Calgary fell in love with the Flames. The 2000s, particularly the 2004 run, renewed that love affair for older fans and created a whole new generation of fans as well.

Individual achievements

145 skaters and 14 goaltenders played at least one game for the Flames during the 2000s.
Award Winners:
  • Jarome Iginla – Art Ross Trophy (2002), Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy (2002 & 2004), Lester B. Pearson Award (2002), First Team All-Star (RW) (2002, 2008 & 2009), King Clancy Memorial Trophy (2004), NHL Foundation Player Award (2004), Second Team All-Star (RW) (2004), Mark Messier Leadership Award (2009)
  • Miikka Kiprusoff: Vezina Trophy (2006), William M. Jennings Trophy (2006), First Team All-Star (G) (2006)
  • Dion Phaneuf: All-Rookie Team (D) (2006), First Team All-Star (D) (2008)
(Man, that’s a lot of awards for Iginla during the decade…)
All-Star Game Representatives:
  • 2000: Valeri Bure and Phil Housley
  • 2002: Jarome Iginla
  • 2003: Jarome Iginla
  • 2004: Jarome Iginla
  • 2007: Dion Phaneuf and Miikka Kiprusoff
  • 2008: Jarome Iginla and Dion Phaneuf
  • 2009: Jarome Iginla
Statistical Leaders:
  • Games (skaters): Jarome Iginla [713]
  • Goals: Jarome Iginla [360]; this led the entire NHL
  • Assists: Jarome Iginla [377]
  • Points: Jarome Iginla [737]
  • Penalty Minutes: Robyn Regehr [688]
  • Game-Winning Goals: Jarome Iginla [58]; this led the entire NHL
  • Games (goalies) Miikka Kiprusoff [373]
  • Wins: Miikka Kiprusoff [210]
  • Shutouts: Miikka Kiprusoff [30]

Check out these posts...