Flames nominate Mikael Backlund for the King Clancy Memorial Trophy

Photo credit:Sergei Belski-USA TODAY Sports
Mike Gould
1 year ago
Calgary Flames forward @Mikael Backlund has been named one of the 32 nominees for the King Clancy Memorial Trophy.
Each of the National Hockey League’s 32 teams selected a nominee for the award, which is presented annually “to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.”
A selection committee of NHL executives — led by commissioner Gary Bettman and deputy commissioner Bill Daly — will select a winner and two additional finalists. The first-place finisher will receive $25,000 to donate to a charity of his choice, while the two finalists will both have $5,000 donations made on their behalf.
Three members of the Flames have previously won the Clancy:
  • 1988: Lanny McDonald was named the first recipient of the award for his past charitable work in Toronto and Calgary.
  • 1995: Joe Nieuwendyk won the award in recognition of his excellence as Flames captain and his leadership in the team’s charitable and humanitarian initiatives.
  • 2004: Jarome Iginla received the award for his involvement in the Flames’ community programs and for donating $1,000 to charity for each goal he scored.
The King Clancy Memorial Trophy was first awarded in 1988 in honour of the legendary Toronto Maple Leafs defenceman-turned-executive, who died in 1986. It was most recently presented to Nashville Predators goaltender Pekka Rinne after the 2020–21 season.
The 2022 NHL Awards ceremony will be held between Games 3 and 4 of the Stanley Cup Final in the city that hosts those two matches.


Looking to up your fantasy hockey game? DailyFaceoff has the tools you need for both daily and season-long fantasy leagues, including a lineup optimizer, daily projections, and a whole lot more. Sign up for the DailyFaceoff tools here.

More from FlamesNation

Check out these posts...