Photo Credit: Sergei Belski-USA TODAY Sports

Erik Gudbranson wins 2021-22 Peter Maher Award

We’re at the end of the regular season and Calgary Flames team awards are beginning to be unveiled. First up is the annual Peter Maher Good Guy Award, which has been awarded to defenceman Erik Gudbranson.

Voted on every year by the local media, the Peter Maher Good Guy Award goes to the Flames player who best exemplifies Maher’s values in their dealings with others: sincerity, integrity, dedication and respect.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

The previous winners of the award are Derek Ryan (2020-21), Mikael Backlund (2019-20), Travis Hamonic (2018-19), Matt Stajan (2017-18), Chad Johnson (2016-17) and Joe Colborne (2013-14 through 2015-16).