Several Calgary Flames players received votes for major NHL awards

Photo credit:Perry Nelson-USA TODAY Sports
Ryan Pike
26 days ago
The National Hockey League’s annual awards were handed out on Thursday night in Las Vegas. And while no Calgary Flames players received any honours, several of them received consideration.
There are seven awards we consider “competitive” awards – the awards for being the best at something in hockey:
  • The Hart – player most valuable to his team
  • The Vezina – best goaltender
  • The Calder – best rookie
  • The Norris – best defenceman
  • The Selke – best defensive forward
  • The Lady Byng – player that best combines gentlemanly conduct with high level of performance
  • The Jack Adams – best coach
In terms of these seven major awards, Flames players received votes for three of them.
Rookie forward Connor Zary finished eighth in Calder Trophy balloting. He appeared on 21 ballots, receiving two third-place votes, four fourth-place votes and 15 fifth-place votes.
A pair of veteran forwards received Selke Trophy votes. Mikael Backlund was 20th in balloting, appearing on two ballots – receiving a first-place and third-place votes. Blake Coleman was on his heels in 21st, appearing on three ballots – he received two third-place votes and a fifth-place vote.
Yegor Sharangovich finished 26th in voting for the Lady Byng, appearing on nine ballots – he received three third-place votes, two fourth-place votes and four fifth-place votes.
In addition to those traditional competitive awards, Oliver Kylington was a finalist for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, indicating he finished second or third in voting. Zary was fifth among forwards in All-Rookie balloting, while Jacob Markstrom was eighth among goaltenders in year-end All-Star voting.
All-in-all, it wasn’t the smoothest season for the Flames, but the appearance of so many players in year-end voting suggests that there were some positives to take from the campaign.

Check out these posts...